Post for 47 people’s reps vacant in 34 districts

Kathmandu, Aug 6 : A total of 47 seats of the people’s representatives has been lying vacant in 34 districts, according to the Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration.

Section Officer at the Ministry, Durga Dahal, shared that Mayor at Dharan Sub-Metropolis, Tara Subba; Chairperson of Sankhuwasabha Rural Municipality in Sankhuwasabha; Khadga Bahadur Katuwal; Chairperson of Pipara Rural Municipality in Mahottari, Binod Chaudhary; Vice-Chairperson of Kharpunath Rural Municipality in Humla, Sindhu Hamal Shahi; and Chairperson of Falgunanda rural municipality, Amar Kumar Nembang have passed away resulting in the vacancy of their posts.

Some died and some got elected in the district coordination committee, he said, adding that Mahottari district has maximum posts lying vacant, while three each in Pyuthan, Panchthar and Baitadi district. In Mahottari, Belawa Municipality has two vacant posts, and Matihani Municipality and Pipara Rural Municipality have one each.

Similarly, in Batadi, Purchaudi Municipality, Sunarya Rural Municipality and Dogdakedar Rural Municipality have vacant post for chairperson. Phidim Municipality, Phalgunanda Rural Municipality and Hilidaha Rural Municipality in Panchthar also have vacant posts.

In Pyuthan, Airawati Rural Municipality and Pyuthan Municipality have vacant posts. Moreover, Khairahani Municipality of Chitwan, and Khandbari Municipality and Makalu Rural Municipality of Sankhuwasabha have also some vacant posts.

The Election Commission has scheduled coming November 30 as the election date.

Even for the federal parliament, member of the House of Representatives from Kaski constituency no 2 is vacant after the death of sitting Minister Rabindra Adhikari, who was elected from there. Similarly, Baglung constituency 2 (2) will have election for the member of the State Assembly, so is the case for constituency no 1 (1) of Bhaktapur and constituency 3 (2) of Dang.